Skip Navigation
September 5, 2023

ATS faculty, research staff, alumnus receive AMS awards

The American Meteorological Society announced this week the recipients of its 2024 awards and honors. The recipients include several current and recent members of the department.

Professors A.R. Ravishankara and David Thompson were named as Fellows of the AMS. The nomination is open to all 13,000 or so AMS members, and a select few are elected as new fellows each year by the Society’s governing body. AMS Fellows have made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their applications during a substantial period of years.

Professor Christine Chiu was awarded the David and Lucille Atlas Remote Sensing Prize. This prize is given biennially in recognition of advances in the science and technology of remote sensing and its application to knowledge of the earth, oceans, and atmosphere.

Professor Dave Randall was selected for the Warren Washington Research and Leadership Medal. The Medal honors the recipient’s outstanding research and leadership in the science of modeling weather and climate, with an emphasis on the role of clouds.

Randy Chase, research scientist with CIRA and Professor Sue van den Heever’s group, and Aaron Hill, recent research scientist with Professor Russ Schumacher’s group, were named AMS editor’s award winners. Hill recently began an assistant professor position with the University of Oklahoma.

Alumnus Mark DeMaria (M.S. 1979, Ph.D. 1983), a CIRA Fellow and senior research scientist, received the Banner I. Miller award for contributions related to understanding rapid TC intensifications. DeMaria was named an AMS Fellow last year.

All of this year’s recipients will be recognized at the 104th AMS Annual Meeting in Baltimore in January 2024.

Photo caption (left to right):  A. R. Ravishankara, David Thompson, Christine Chiu, David Randall, Randy Chase, Aaron Hill, and Mark DeMaria.