Skip Navigation

Faculty

Libby Barnes

Elizabeth A. Barnes – Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2012 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Understanding the variability of the atmosphere to better interpret and predict its behavior over a range of timescales and climates
  • Email: eabarnes@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8206

Michael Bell

Michael M. Bell – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. – 2010 – Naval Postgraduate School – Monterey, CA
  • Tropical cyclones, radar, mesoscale, and tropical meteorology
  • Email: mmbell@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8345

Thomas Birner

Thomas Birner – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2003 – Ludwig-Maximilians-University – Munich, Germany
  • Atmospheric & climate dynamics, general circulation, dynamics of the coupled troposphere / stratosphere system
  • Email: thomas@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-492-4041

Jeff Collett - faculty page

Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. – Professor and Department Head

  • Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering – 1989 – California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • Environmental chemistry, aqueous phase chemistry and cloud microphysics measurements, gas and aerosol scavenging, precipitation and deposition processes, and air quality
  • Email: collett@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8697

Scott Denning

A. Scott Denning – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1994 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Global biogeochemical cycles (especially the carbon cycle), global-scale transport of atmospheric trace gases, land-surface climate and climate modeling, atmospheric boundary, numerical modeling and simulation
  • Email: scott.denning@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8359

Emily Fischer

Emily Fischer – Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2010 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Field-based and applied modeling approaches to investigate the sources of atmospheric trace gases to remote environments
  • Email: evf@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8587

Sonia Kreidenweis

Sonia M. Kreidenweis – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering – 1989 – California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • Atmospheric chemistry, aerosol chemistry and physics, experimental and modeling studies of aerosol/cloud/climate interactions, and visibility
  • Email: sonia@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8350

Chris Kummerow

Christian D. Kummerow – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Physics – 1987 – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
  • Atmospheric radiative transfer and remote sensing of hydrological parameters
  • Email: kummerow@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-7473

Eric Maloney

Eric D. Maloney – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2000 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Tropical meteorology, climate dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interaction
  • Email: emaloney@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-3368

Jeff Pierce

Jeffrey Pierce – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering – 2008 – Carnegie Mellon University – Pittsburgh, PA
  • Aerosols, cloud microphysics, new-particle formation and growth
  • Email: jeffrey.pierce@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8572

Dave Randall

David A. Randall – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1976 – University of California, Los Angeles
  • General circulation modeling, planetary boundary layer, convective cloud dynamics, and cloud/climate studies
  • Email: randall@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8474

Kristen Rasmussen

Kristen L. Rasmussen – Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D. – 2014 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Satellite and mesoscale meteorology, global convective systems, cloud dynamics, hydrometeorology, cloud climate interactions, high-impact weather
  • Email: kristenr@rams.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8983

'Ravi' Ravishankara

A. R. Ravishankara – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry – 1975 – University of Florida, Gainesville
  • Ozone layer depletion, climate change, and air quality
  • Joint appointment with CSU Department of Chemistry
  • Email: ravi@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-2876

Steve Rutledge

Steven A. Rutledge – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1983 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Radar and mesoscale meteorology, precipitation physics, and atmospheric electricity
  • Email: rutledge@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8283

Russ Schumacher

Russ S. Schumacher – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2008 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Mesoscale meteorology, mesoscale convective systems, weather analysis and forecasting, the climatology of precipitation, precipitation extremes, flash floods, and societal impacts of weather
  • Email: russ.schumacher@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8084

Dave Thompson

David W. J. Thompson – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2000 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Global climate variability, climate change, large-scale atmospheric dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interaction, and climate impacts
  • Email: davet@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-3338

Sue van den Heever

Sue van den Heever – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2001 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Convective storms, mesoscale meteorology, numerical modeling, cloud physics and dynamics, aerosol indirect effects
  • Email: sue@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8501

Emeritus Faculty

Myron J. Corrin
(deceased)

William R. Cotton

Stephen K. Cox

Lewis O. Grant
(deceased)

William M. Gray
(Deceased)

Bernard Haurwitz
(deceased)

Richard H. Johnson

Thomas B. McKee

Roger A. Pielke, Sr.

Elmar R. Reiter
(deceased)

Herbert H. Riehl
(deceased)

Wayne H. Schubert

Peter C. Sinclair
(deceased)

Graeme L. Stephens

Thomas H. Vonder Haar

Affiliates

Curtis Alexander

Michael Alexander

Kelley Barsanti

Mary Barth

Sid-Ahmed Boukabara

Christopher Davis

Mark DeMaria

Michael Fiorino

Steven Fletcher

Thomas Hamill

George Kiladis

John Knaff

Steven Miller

James Moum

Christa Peters-Lidard

Gabriele Pfister

William Randel

Bret Schichtel