Skip Navigation

Faculty

Libby Barnes

Elizabeth A. Barnes – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2012 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Understanding the variability of the atmosphere to better interpret and predict its behavior over a range of timescales and climates
  • Email: eabarnes@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8206

Michael Bell

Michael M. Bell – Professor

  • Ph.D. – 2010 – Naval Postgraduate School – Monterey, CA
  • Tropical cyclones, radar, mesoscale, and tropical meteorology
  • Email: mmbell@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8345

Melissa Burt

Melissa A. Burt – Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering

  • Ph.D. – 2016 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Atmospheric science education research, science identity, belonging, and mentoring in STEM, science communication education
  • Email: Melissa.Burt@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8706

Christine Chiu

Christine Chiu – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Sciences – 2003 – Purdue University – West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Remote sensing, radiative transfer, and cloud-aerosol-precipitation-radiation interactions
  • Email: Christine.Chiu@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8410

Jeff Collett - faculty page

Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering – 1989 – California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • Environmental chemistry, aqueous phase chemistry and cloud microphysics measurements, gas and aerosol scavenging, precipitation and deposition processes, and air quality
  • Email: collett@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8697

Scott Denning

A. Scott Denning – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1994 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Global biogeochemical cycles (especially the carbon cycle), global-scale transport of atmospheric trace gases, land-surface climate and climate modeling, atmospheric boundary, numerical modeling and simulation
  • Email: scott.denning@colostate.edu

Emily Fischer

Emily Fischer – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2010 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Field-based and applied modeling approaches to investigate the sources of atmospheric trace gases to remote environments
  • Email: evf@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8587

James Hurrell

James Hurrell – Professor and Scott Presidential Chair in Environmental Science and Engineering

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1990 – Purdue University – West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Global climate change, natural climate variability, seasonal-to-decadal climate predictability, and geoengineering
  • Email: James.Hurrell@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 303-910-3514

Pat Keys

Patrick W. Keys – Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D. in Sustainability Science – 2016 – Stockholm University – Stockholm, Sweden
  • Climate and societal change, anthropocene futures, sustainable development, and human dimensions of atmospheric water recycling
  • Email: patrick.keys@colostate.edu

Sonia Kreidenweis

Sonia M. Kreidenweis – University Distinguished Professor and Executive Associate Dean in the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering

  • Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering – 1989 – California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • Atmospheric chemistry, aerosol chemistry and physics, experimental and modeling studies of aerosol/cloud/climate interactions, and visibility
  • Email: sonia@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8350

Chris Kummerow

Christian D. Kummerow – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Physics – 1987 – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
  • Atmospheric radiative transfer and remote sensing of hydrological parameters
  • Email: kummerow@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-7473

Eric Maloney

Eric D. Maloney – Professor and Department Head

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2000 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Tropical meteorology, climate dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interaction
  • Email: emaloney@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-3368

Steven Miller

Steven Miller – Professor and director of the Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2000 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Meteorological satellite remote sensing of the earth/atmosphere system, multispectral imaging, algorithm development and forecaster applications
  • Email: steven.miller@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8037

Jeff Pierce

Jeffrey Pierce – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering – 2008 – Carnegie Mellon University – Pittsburgh, PA
  • Aerosols, air pollution, health, aerosol-cloud interactions, climate
  • Email: jeffrey.pierce@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8572

Dave Randall

David A. Randall – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1976 – University of California, Los Angeles
  • General circulation modeling, planetary boundary layer, convective cloud dynamics, and cloud/climate studies
  • Email: David.Randall@colostate.edu

Kristen Rasmussen

Kristen L. Rasmussen – Associate Professor

  • Ph.D. – 2014 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Satellite and mesoscale meteorology, global convective systems, cloud dynamics, hydrometeorology, cloud climate interactions, high-impact weather
  • Email: kristenr@rams.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8983

'Ravi' Ravishankara

A. R. Ravishankara – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry – 1975 – University of Florida, Gainesville
  • Ozone layer depletion, climate change, and air quality
  • Joint appointment with CSU Department of Chemistry
  • Email: A.R.Ravishankara@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-2876

Maria Rugenstein

Maria Rugenstein – Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D. – 2017 – ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology), Zürich, Switzerland
  • Climate dynamics, large scale ocean-atmosphere interaction, ocean heat uptake, climate sensitivity
  • Email: Maria.Rugenstein@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8364

Steve Rutledge

Steven A. Rutledge – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 1983 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Radar and mesoscale meteorology, precipitation physics, and atmospheric electricity
  • Email: steven.rutledge@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8283

Russ Schumacher

Russ S. Schumacher – Professor and Colorado State Climatologist

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2008 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Mesoscale meteorology, mesoscale convective systems, weather analysis and forecasting, the climatology of precipitation, precipitation extremes, flash floods, and societal impacts of weather
  • Email: russ.schumacher@colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8084

Dave Thompson

David W. J. Thompson – Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2000 – University of Washington, Seattle
  • Global climate variability, climate change, large-scale atmospheric dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interaction, and climate impacts
  • Email: davet@atmos.colostate.edu

Sue van den Heever

Sue van den Heever – University Distinguished Professor

  • Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science – 2001 – Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Convective storms, mesoscale meteorology, numerical modeling, cloud physics and dynamics, aerosol indirect effects
  • Email: sue@atmos.colostate.edu
  • Phone: 970-491-8501

Peter Jan Van Leeuwen

Peter Jan van Leeuwen – Professor

  • Ph.D. – 1992 – Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Nonlinear data assimilation in high-dimensional geophysical systems, causality inference in complex geophysical systems, geophysical fluid dynamics and ocean circulation
  • Email: Peter.vanLeeuwen@colostate.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Myron J. Corrin
(deceased)

William R. Cotton

Stephen K. Cox

Lewis O. Grant
(deceased)

William M. Gray
(deceased)

Bernard Haurwitz
(deceased)

Richard H. Johnson

Thomas B. McKee

Roger A. Pielke, Sr.

Elmar R. Reiter
(deceased)

Herbert H. Riehl
(deceased)

Wayne H. Schubert

Peter C. Sinclair
(deceased)

Graeme L. Stephens

Thomas H. Vonder Haar

Affiliates

Jeffrey Andersen

Mary Barth

Katherine Benedict

Kenneth Davis

Clara Deser

Steven Fletcher

Edwin Gerber

Jen Henderson

John Knaff

Wen-Chau Lee

Glen Liston

Bret Schichtel

Justin Small