Skip Navigation


Our alumni are an integral part of our past and future. We encourage our alumni to stay in touch by updating their contact information (address/​phone/​email address) with the department, and invite them to share their career updates, awards received, books published, research project developments, etc., so we can include this information in our annual newsletter or on our website. Please email updates to

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Recipients of our Distinguished Alumni Awards are former students who, by their distinguished careers and service to the college, university, state, nation or world, have brought honor to the department, the College of Engineering, Colorado State University and themselves.

2018: Xubin Zeng – Ph.D. ’92
Xubin Zeng

2017: Maria Silva Dias – M.S. ’77, Ph.D. ’79

2017 Distinguished Alum Maria Silva Dias

2016: Thomas C. Peterson – M.S. ’89, Ph.D. ’91

2016 Distinguished Alum Thomas C. Peterson

2015: James R. Fleming – M.S. ’73

Jim Fleming

2014: Steven A. Ackerman – M.S. ’79, Ph.D. ’87

Steven Ackerman

2013: No award presented

2012: Robert F. Adler – Ph.D. ’74

Robert Adler

2011: Dennis J. Shea – M.S. ’72

Dennis Shea

2010: Roland A. Madden – Ph.D. ’78

Roland Madden

2009: Paul J. DeMott – M.S. ’82, Ph.D. ’90

Paul DeMott

2008: Major Thomas A. Guinn – M.S. ’89, Ph.D. ’92
2007: Greg J. Holland – M.S. ’81, Ph.D. ’83
2006: Bruce A. Albrecht – M.S. ’74, Ph.D. ’77
2005: William Frank – M.S. ’73, Ph.D. ’76
2004: Bjorn B. Stevens – Ph.D. ’96

College Honor Alumnus Award

Each year, the Colorado State University Alumni Association honors an outstanding alumnus or alumna from each of the university’s eight colleges. An Honored Alum is a former student who, by his/her distinguished career and service to the university, state, nation or world, has brought honor to Colorado State University and to himself/herself.

1998: Robert Maddox, M.S. ’73, Ph.D. ’81
1995: Jerry Mahlman, M.S. ’64, Ph.D. ’67
1987: Vincent Salomonson, ’59
1979: Harry Parker Foltz, Ph.D. ’67

William E. Morgan Alumni Achievement Award

Awarded by the CSU Alumni Association, this award is named for Colorado State University’s eighth president, Dr. William E. Morgan, whose participation in and commitment to the life of Colorado State University for more than 30 years has significantly contributed to Colorado State’s position as a premier institution of higher education. This award is the highest honor given by the Association and is reserved for alumni who have excelled at the national or international level. The purpose of this award is to recognize a graduate of Colorado State University who has attained extraordinary distinction and success in his/her field of endeavor, whose achievements have brought credit to Colorado State University and benefit to his/her fellow citizens.

James Rasmussen
1993: James Rasmussen, Ph.D. ’68