skip to main content

There are no current colloquia scheduled at this time.

Welcome to the Department of Atmospheric Science

at Colorado State University

Our top-rated department focuses on graduate education, cutting-edge research, and public service. We currently have 15 faculty members, nearly one hundred graduate students, approximately 50 full-time researchers, and an outstanding and dedicated support staff. Our diverse areas of research include Cloud Microphysics, Severe Storms and Mesoscale Meteorology, Atmospheric Chemistry and Air Quality, Radiation and Remote Sensing, Climate and Atmosphere-Ocean Dynamics, and Global Biogeochemical Cycles and Ecosystems. We offer graduate degrees at both the M.S. and Ph.D. levels. The department was founded in 1962 by renowned tropical meteorologist Herbert Riehl and recently celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Donate to the Department of Atmospheric Science

View past articles

History of the Department of Atmospheric Science



Department Ranked Among Top in the United States

History: In 1982, on the occasion of the Department’s 20th Anniversary celebration, a number of leaders in Atmospheric Science in the US provided unsolicited statements and remarks congratulating the Department of Atmospheric Science for ranking among the top three in the US. They were Dr. Earl Droessler, Chief Scientist of NOAA; Dr. Eugene Bierly, Director of the NSF Atmospheric Science Division; Professor Verner Suomi from Wisconsin (an AMS Rossby Award winner); Dr. Richard Hallgren, Director of NOAA’s National Weather Service; and others. (Droessler, Bierly and Suomi all served as Presidents of the AMS and Hallgren later became its Executive Secretary. Dr. Droessler had earlier been one of the NOAA co-founders of CIRA with Professor Vonder Haar and the faculty of 1979-80). In addition, at the 20th Anniversary Dinner, Professor Peter Hobbs of the University of Washington presented Vonder Haar and the faculty with a surprise gift. It was a red and white t-shirt styled after a popular AVIS rental car commercial of the time. It was labeled in bold letters “Number 2”. This ascribed 2nd position to our Department, following, of course, the No. 1 ranked Atmospheric Science Department at Washington, widely recognized as one of the most outstanding in our field.


New Students

Welcome Fall 2016 Students

Jennifer Bukowski Ting-yu Cha
Michael Cheeseman Kyle Chudler
Luke Davis Kyle Nardi
Michael Natoli Katelyn O'Dell
Emily Ramnarine Bryn Ronalds
Benjamin Toms Benjamin Trabing
Kai-Chih Tseng Jungmin Park

              Ph.D. Defense
Ali Boris
Location: ATS Large Classroom (ATS 101)
Date: June 8, 12:00 pm
Advisor: Jeff Collett

December 2015
December 2014
December 2013

We are taking a break during the summer - see you back in the fall!

View current & past Café details...

Temp: 65°F ( 18°C)
Dewpoint: 45°F ( 7°C)
Relative Humidity: 49%
Wind Speed: 4 mph, gusts 4 mph
(6 km/h, gusts 7 km/h)
Wind Direction: 288°
Pressure: 840 hPa ( 24.85 in)

Last Updated: 26 May 2016. Contact the Webmaster