Skip Navigation
May 18, 2017

Distinguished Alum Award Call for Nominations

Dear Faculty, Alums, and Friends of the Department: We are pleased to invite nominations for the 2017 Colorado State University Atmospheric Science Distinguished Alum Award. This Award was created to honor former students whose accomplishments in their careers and service to the profession, the public and/or industry have brought recognition to that individual, to the […]

June 20, 2017

ATS hosts North Carolina A&T State University undergrads

Five undergraduate students from North Carolina A&T State University visited the department June 4-10, as part of the department’s NSF-GEOPATHS program and a collaboration with Prof. Solomon Bililign from the North Carolina school. Prof. Scott Denning and Melissa Burt are the CSU co-PIs for the NSF-GEOPATHS program. The goals of their visit were to: Actively […]

June 16, 2017

Ryan Riesenberg awarded Liniger Honor, Service, and Commitment Scholarship

Ryan Riesenberg, advised by Kristen Rasmussen, has been awarded the Liniger Honor, Service, and Commitment Scholarship. This scholarship is for a CSU student and veteran who has participated in combat operations and received a campaign medal for military service. There are also academic requirements. The scholarship was founded by David and Gail Liniger, who are […]

June 13, 2017

Learn about mountain forecasting at What’s Brewing in Weather & Climate

Joel Gratz will cover “Mountain Forecasting: Facts, Tips & Tricks” at FORTCAST’s fifth installment of What’s Brewing in Weather & Climate. Joel is the founder and CEO of OpenSnow and OpenSummit. Learn about the challenges of mountain forecasting 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 20, upstairs at Tap and Handle. Please RSVP here. CSU students, bring your […]

June 9, 2017

SOURCE: FORTCAST to host inaugural Colorado Weatherfest June 24

Fort Collins Atmospheric Scientists (FORTCAST) will host the inaugural Colorado Weatherfest 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 24. All events will take place at the CSU Department of Atmospheric Science, 3915 W. Laporte Avenue, on the CSU Foothills Campus. Featuring a weather balloon launch and drone demonstration, the event – open to all ages […]


Current Conditions

58.4°F  (14.7°C)
Dew Pt:
39.1°F  (3.9°C)
Rel Hum:
W @ 0.0 mph G 0.0
(292° @ 0.0 km/h G 0.0 km/h)
839.54 mb (24.8")
Last Obs
01:01 AM Jun 28, 2017

latest department webcam image

Area Precipitation Maps
Weekly Weather Plots

Upcoming Colloquium

No colloquia are scheduled at this time.

Upcoming Defenses

No defenses are scheduled in the next three weeks.


Department newsletter thumbnail
2016 Department Newsletter (PDF)