Skip Navigation
November 7, 2019

College recognizes ‘rising stars’ Kristen Rasmussen and Bonne Ford

The Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering honored Assistant Professor Kristen Rasmussen and research scientist Bonne Ford at its all-college meeting and awards ceremony Nov. 4. Rasmussen received the George T. Abell Outstanding Early-Career Faculty Award, and Ford received the Outstanding Researcher – Rising Star Award.

Award winners were selected by a committee comprised of last year’s winners. Nominations were submitted by colleagues and staff of the college’s eight departments and programs.

“Kristen’s contributions across research, atmospheric field campaign organization, mentoring, teaching, outreach, and service in her first three years at CSU are without peer,” wrote the three department professors who nominated Rasmussen. “In just three years as a professor, Kristen has already established herself as one of the top rising stars in storms, precipitation, and extreme weather.”

Rasmussen expressed gratitude in her response.

“I am very honored to win this award and am grateful for the wonderful students, staff, and faculty at ATS that make this work environment collaborative and productive,” she said.

Ford’s research group leader, Associate Professor Jeff Pierce, led her nomination, which was supported by colleagues within and outside of the department.

“Bonne has made exceptional contributions not only to research, but also to student mentoring and management/leadership of two interdisciplinary WSCOE projects,” he wrote in his nomination letter. “Bonne is an extremely gifted scientist, a highly effective project manager, and a caring and dedicated student mentor.”

Ford said she was grateful that her colleagues took the time to nominate her and write letters of support.

“I appreciate being selected for this award, and I am thankful to work with supportive people who see the value in my research and my contributions to the department, CSU, and beyond,” she said. “The award is both an encouragement and motivator.”