Skip Navigation
October 12, 2018

ATS faculty to hold leadership positions in AGU Atmospheric Sciences section

Professor James Hurrell will lead the Atmospheric Sciences section of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) as president for a two-year term starting in 2019. Hurrell served as president-elect in 2018. This week Professor Sue van den Heever also was elected as secretary of physics, dynamics and climate for the Atmospheric Sciences section for 2019-20. They are joined on the committee by Joyce Penner (University of Michigan; past president), Paul Newman (Goddard Space Flight Center; president-elect) and Faye McNeill (Columbia University; secretary of composition and chemistry).