Skip Navigation
May 3, 2018

Emily Fischer receives Graduate Advising and Mentoring Award

Assistant Professor Emily Fischer has been selected as one of three recipients of this year’s Graduate Advising and Mentorship Award from the CSU Graduate Student Council. Winners are selected based on nominations by CSU graduate students across all disciplines. In its fourth year, the award was created to acknowledge outstanding advisors, who exceptionally dedicate their time, energy and wisdom to graduate students. Thirty-one advisors were nominated, including Assistant Professor Kristen Rasmussen.

“This is such a special award to win given the fact that one’s students have to put together a nomination package,” said Associate Department Head Sue van den Heever, who called Fischer a highly deserving candidate.

Fischer’s students said nominating her was a “no-brainer.”

“Emily’s enthusiasm, support and guidance has been unwavering and critical to each of us in our development as young scientists. Emily makes time to meet with each of us at least once a week, where we discuss research progress, ideas for new research, and to make sure that each of us are on track to graduate and meet career goals,” five of Fischer’s students wrote in their nomination letter.

They credit Fischer’s encouragement and support for inspiring them to apply for fellowships, grants and awards they have received.

Fischer called receiving the honor “a wonderful surprise.”

“My students may not realize just how easy they are to mentor – they are such a talented and motivated group of scientists. I’m incredibly proud of the work they do,” she said.

Van den Heever, who was the last Department of Atmospheric Science faculty member to receive the award in 2015, noted the department’s success in this area. Assistant Professor Elizabeth Barnes received an honorable mention for the award last year.

“I love it when ATS demonstrates that not only are we successful in research, but we are passionate about our teaching too,” van den Heever said.

You can find the complete list of winners, honorable mentions and nominees here.

Photo: Emily Fischer (center) and her students who nominated her for the Graduate Advising and Mentoring Award, (from left) Jared Brewer, Zitely Tzompa, Jakob Lindaas, Steven Brey and Kate O’Dell.